Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
Friday, Apr 18, 2014

Cross country: Tribune’s All-Pasco County Team



First Team

Travis Nichols, Sr., Land O’ Lakes: Finished 14th with a 15:51 at the Class 3A state meet and one of the Gators’ top runners in history.

Tyler Stahl, Sr., Land O’ Lakes: Combined with Nichols to form a potent duo and finished eighth at the Class 3A state meet with a 15:34.

Jake Poore, Sr., Land O’ Lakes: Finished 18th at state with a 15:59 and helped the Gators win the Sunshine Athletic Conference for the second straight year.

James Raymond, So., Gulf: Was 51st at the Class 2A state meet with a 17:01.

Steven Barnabei, Sr., Land O’ Lakes: Returned from surgery to remove a brain tumor in 2012 to inspire his team and help the Gators to the state meet.

Second Team

Steven Brown, Sr., Sunlake

Christian Suriel, So., Wiregrass Ranch

Troy Shea, Sr., Mitchell

Kenneth Walker, Fivay

Kevin Hernandez, Jr., Pasco

Honorable Mention

Anclote: Stefano Katsiopis. Gulf: Wesley Best. Hudson: Chris Mull. Land O’ Lakes: D.J Swartz, Austin Dotson. Mitchell: Koehler Machulus. Ridgewood: Bryan DeJesus. River Ridge: Antonio Sierra. Wesley Chapel: Dominic Moreno, Jordan Bourque. Wiregrass Ranch: Andy Hippely, Brennan Cameli, Keval Patel. Zephyrhills: Joshua Fiallo.


First Team

Kari Grippo, Sr., Gulf: Returning to form after injury, won her third straight district title, took the region practically without competition and finished fifth at the Class 2A state meet with an 18:34.

Emily Kerns, Jr., Mitchell: Finished 41st at Class 3A state meet with a 19:42 and led the Mitchell to a 21st-place finish in its first state meet.

Elise Cedre, Sr. Wiregrass Ranch: Competed at the Class 4A state meet.

Eliza Gazda, Sr., Gulf: Helped Gulf reach state tournament where it had a 15th-place finish.

Leah Thompson, So., Mitchell: An important runner in getting Mitchell girls reach the state Class 3A meet.

Second Team

Isabella Brown, Fr., Land O’ Lakes

Madison Conway, So., Wiregrass Ranch

Lauren Hale, So., Wesley Chapel

Perla Saucedo, Fr., Anclote

Amber Maxwell, So., Wesley Chapel

Honorable Mention

Gulf: Katie Buckman. Land O’ Lakes: Lindsey Weilant. Mitchell: Jordan Spicer, Jessica Boykin, Katelyn Emminger. Ridgewood: Anne Menees. River Ridge: Helena Simms. Sunlake: Lexi Antolino. Wiregrass Ranch: Kerry Reilly, Savannah Goode.

About the teams

The Tribune’s All-Pasco County cross country teams were selected by correspondent Larry Bugg. The team was selected based on regular-season and postseason performances. The Sunshine Athletic Conference team selected by the county’s coaches was strongly considered. The Runner and Coach of the Year will be announced at a later date.