TBO.com, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather
Saturday, Jul 12, 2014

NCAA hockey road to Tampa about to begin

The Tampa Tribune
Published:   |   Updated: March 18, 2013 at 03:36 PM

Boston College is the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA hockey tournament.

The 16-team field was announced Sunday afternoon, with each participant hoping to reach the Frozen Four at the Forum in downtown Tampa on April 5-7.

Michigan, Union (N.Y.) and North Dakota also received top seeds for the tournament, which starts on Friday and Saturday.

Boston College, the nation's top-ranked team and winner of the Hockey East tournament, is seeking its fifth national title and third in five seasons.

The field was selected based on a computer ranking system, much like the BCS in college football. The 16 teams are divided into four-team regions — East, Northeast, Northwest and West — with regional play scheduled for Friday-Sunday.

One team from each region advances to Tampa. The national semifinals are April 5 and the championship game is April 7.

Boston College opens against Air Force, while defending champion Minnesota-Duluth faces Maine in the Northeast Regional.

Michigan opens against Cornell and Ferris State plays Denver in the Midwest.

North Dakota meets Western Michigan while Boston University faces Minnesota in the West.

Union (N.Y.) will play Michigan State and Miami of Ohio gets UMass-Lowell in the East.


WHAT: 2012 NCAA Division I men's ice hockey semifinals and championship

WHEN: Semifinals at 4:30 and 8 p.m. April 5; championship at 7 p.m. April 7

WHERE: Forum, Tampa

TICKETS: All-session tickets are $195, available through TicketMaster