Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014
Auto Racing

Busch wins 100th race

The Associated Press
Published:   |   Updated: March 20, 2013 at 02:17 PM

Kyle Busch has sped into auto racing history, becoming the third NASCAR driver to win 100 races.

Busch's victory Saturday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway also tied him with Mark Martin for first place in career Nationwide Series victories with 49. Busch has 22 wins in Sprint Cup and 29 in the Trucks Series.

Richard Petty is NASCAR's career leader with 200 wins and David Pearson is second with 106. Petty won all of his races at the Cup level. Pearson won 105 races in Cup and one in Nationwide. Busch has 100 wins spread over NASCAR's top three national series.

Busch, the 2009 Nationwide champion, won for the sixth time this season.

Busch, only 26 years old, took a victory ride around the track holding a "100" flag out the window. One of the most polarizing drivers in the sport, even the milestone cause a stir, with old-school fans feeling Busch's total shouldn't be lumped with Petty and Pearson.

Busch understood those feelings. But 100 wins is 100 wins.

"Certainly, mine's a little bit different," Busch said. "But it feels good."

Martin was in Victory Lane to shake Busch's hand and offer congratulations on his feat.

Kevin Harvick was second and Kasey Kahne third. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Aric Almirola rounded out the top five.

TRUCKS: Matt Crafton held off a charging Austin Dillon to win the Trucks Series race at Iowa, snapping a 79-race winless streak.

Dillon led for most of the race, but fell behind after a late pit stop. He quickly moved back into second and went side-by-side down the stretch with Crafton, who was able to hang on for his second career win.

Dillon won at Iowa for his first career win in 2010 and led for 127 laps Saturday night.

Pole sitter David Mayhew was third, followed by Johnny Sauter and Joey Coulter.