TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
Sunday, Mar 29, 2015
Plant City Courier

New chamber chairman identifies five keys for success as he accepts gavel

Published:   |   Updated: February 5, 2014 at 02:02 PM

View allPage 1 of 2 | Next page

Page 2 of 2 | View all Previous page

PLANT CITY Nate Kilton declared his faith, praised local institutions and outlined keys for success for 2014 as he took the reins of the Greater Plant City Chamber of Commerce.

Kilton predicted a prosperous year for the city, and that he looks forward to his role as chairman. He started his remarks at the chamber’s annual chairman’s installation dinner with a declaration of his faith - and said he was glad that Plant City was the kind of a place that embraces religious principles.

He also praised such key community institutions as South Florida Baptist Hospital and the Florida Strawberry Festival.

Kilton, a certified public accountant, owner of Sedita Kilton Life & Wealth Management and director of the Plant City Times & Observer, listed five keys to success for the chamber and community. Those include nurturing the sense of community; growing chamber membership and offering help to businesses; continuing to partner with the city in economic development; supporting and building up such annual chamber events as the Pig Jam and Trains, Planes and Automobiles; and expressing appreciation for the chamber’s volunteers.

The evening included a salute to outgoing chairman Jim Scott and a bouquet of roses for his wife Leigh, and the presentation of a movie director-type chair for Al Berry, who produces humorous videos shown at each chairman’s banquet.

Officers were also installed for the year, including Michael Cameron, chairman-elect; Jim Scott, immediate past president; Brian West, treasurer; Janet Kelly, membership division; Edwena Haney, community program division; Phil Waldron, economic development council; and Keith Smith, community and governmental affairs division.

Directors installed for 2014 include Matt Buzza, Yvonne Fry, Charles Harris, Bradley Herremans, Vickie Houllis, Larry Jimenez Jr., Jason Jones, Clay Keel, Darcy Stottlemyer and Michael Watkins. A thanks went out to outgoing directors Michael Gottesman and Gail Lyons.

Twitter: @dnicholsonTrib


(813) 394-5103

View allPage 1 of 2 | Next page

Page 2 of 2 | View all Previous page

Subscribe to The Tampa Tribune