AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) — Several new laws affecting drivers have gone into effect in Maine.
Under one of the new laws that went into effect on Wednesday, Maine drivers cited for texting while driving will get a $250 minimum fine for their first violation and $500 fine for second and subsequent violations within three years. Violators will now also have their licenses temporarily suspended.
Other new laws include one that extends the license suspension for operating under the influence offenders that have been cited three or more times within 10 years. The suspension would be extended from six years to eight years.
Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap said that he hopes the new laws will continue to improve safety on the road in Maine.